Martha Curgin Award Nominees

Congratulations to our past nominees and winners


Brendan Ainscow 

Brendon co-founded Coin Your Logo for Cancer in February of 2016 after he was diagnosed with stage IV lymphoma. Brendon wanted to give back to the hospital that took care of him and to raise awareness about the disease. This coming June will mark the third year of Brendon’s leadership of the event. 



Jillian Best

Jillian sat on the Night of Blues committee that took place at the London Music Hall earlier this year, which sold out in just 10 days. Jillian helped sell tickets, secured auction items, managed the event’s social media and marketing, and volunteered at the event. The event raised $4,500 and plans are in place to host the event annually in support of patient assistance for the Multi-Organ Transplant Program (MOTP).


Peter Thibert & Karolanne Bolton

Karolanne, with her husband Peter’s support,  has been volunteering for the Country Classic Auction for 30 years. This year, Karolanne volunteered with auction acquisition and item pick-up. She devoted four months to travelling around the city, asking for donations and picking them up. 


Eugene Crowley

Eugene and his late wife Ann started the London Run for Ovarian Cancer in 2003. In 2017, he remains a key organizer of the run, which has raised $2 million for ovarian cancer research. 


"The amount of work he has done to raise funds for research on ovarian cancer cannot be overstated – his energy and determination to continue Ann’s fight has been remarkable.”


Samantha Gerster

Samantha expanded her volunteer role with the Dash 4 Dad committee — taking on the responsibility of running the event’s social media campaign as well as designing brochures, posters and the event t-shirt.


Paul & Barb Hebert - 2018 Award Recipients

Paul and Barb are co-chairs of the Mental Health Care Campaign Cabinet and have been instrumental in the success of a number of LHSF’s community events and fundraising initiatives in support of LHSC’s mental health programs.


Mike Malleck & Reg Jackson

Mike and Reg participated in the Country Classic Auction (CCA) committee for a number of years before sharing the leadership role as co-chairs in 2015. With a cumulative 22 years of volunteering for LHSF, Mike and Reg have generated ideas, engaged community partners and identified new opportunities for giving.


Wendy Komar

Wendy is the woman behind making both of Access Cancer Therapies (ACT) Now’s fundraising events happen: Taste of Italy and the Dr. Ed Brecevic Memorial Smash & Drive. ACT Now is an initiative that helps patients pay for cancer treatments not covered by OHIP. Wendy and her husband Ron lead ACT Now’s two major events.


Gary Koreen

Gary has served on the Cardiac Care Campaign Cabinet since its inception and is dedicated to inspiring new donors in the community.


"Gary has helped to develop very significant partnerships between LHSF and community members leading to several major gifts. He is deserving of recognition for his dedication to LHSF and our entire community.”


John Oliveira

John sits on the Dash 4 Dad committee and is the founder of the Night of Comedy event, both supporting prostate cancer initiatives at the London Regional Cancer Program (LRCP). He also leads the Prostate Cancer Support Group in Chatham-Kent and is starting one in London.


Kim Petrie

Kim has inspired others to fight and carry on in spite of having Parkinson’s disease. She always makes herself available to listen and help others who are facing the disease. Kim started the annual Let’s Shake event, which raises awareness and funds for Parkinson’s research.


David Renwick

Dave is a member of the Mental Health Care Campaign Cabinet and a volunteer and spokesperson for mental health care at LHSC. He has been supporting the hospital for more than 20 years through volunteering with various committees, supporting events and more. 


Connie Sargant

Connie has been a regular and loyal volunteer and advocate for LHSF’s Cancer Care Campaign.


“Connie works tirelessly to promote community awareness of LHSF and the cancer program — specifically multiple myeloma and cancer research.”


Terry Zavitz

Terry is the chair of the Women’s Care Campaign Cabinet and has volunteered for years with LHSF, serving on the past Board of Directors and the Planned Giving Committee. She maintains a high profile in the community through her volunteer work, business acumen and philanthropy and has won numerous awards for her achievements. 

Eva Archibald
Twee Brown
Carrie Ann Chanon
​​Eugene Crowley
David Currie
Bryan Halfday
Paul & Barb Hebert
Mike Malleck 
April Mullen
Millie Norry
Patrick Patton
Kim Petrie
Ashlan Potts
John Schucht, 2017 Award Winner
Kelly Tranquilli
Frank Vandenborre
Ken Walmsley
Terry Zavitz