The Allen-Carey Scholarship in Women’s Health

Dr. Hugh Allen and Dr. Lewis Carey

The Allen-Carey Scholarship in Women’s Health, established in 1998, honours Dr. Hugh Allen (left) and the late Dr. Lewis Carey (right)—two notable philanthropists and former LHSC physicians. The award supports unique physician training opportunities for specialized education in women's health.

Priority will be given to unique training opportunities such as an additional year of training associated with or following a fellowship program. Training experiences that immerse the applicant in a new and unique academic environment is encouraged as trainees benefit from the interactions and culture of special training environments. In general, the award is not intended to fund fellowship training, correspondence/distance training, preceptor experiences, or additional clinical training that could be offered as part of a residency/fellowship training program. 

Training Opportunities

The scholarship will support unique training opportunities for one year in General Obstetrics and Gynecology, Maternal Fetal Medicine, Gynecologic Oncology, Reproductive Endocrinology or other women’s health specialties. The training categories include:

1. Specialized clinical training
2. Research training 
3. Leadership training
4. Education training

Funding may be provided for a Master’s or other specialty degrees. For Master’s degree training experiences, applicants should provide supporting evidence that their chosen program will lead to ongoing mentorship, program/institutional support, or research funding. With the benefit of the proposed training experience the applicant should provide examples (or outline) how their training will have a sustainable impact on improving patient care and/or promoting excellence in women’s health.  

Other health training opportunities may be considered if the candidate and training program are exceptional and fit with the objectives of the award. Applicants who have not trained in Obstetrics and Gynecology may be considered. In such circumstances it will be helpful to demonstrate the impact on how the requested training program will positively impact the provision of women’s health care.

Application Dates

Applications will be received and reviewed on a yearly basis. The deadline for receiving applications for the 2018 award competition will be November 15, 2017. Applicants will be notified of a decision by January 31, 2018. The award period runs for 12 months from July 1 to June 30. 

For complete applicant information, please download the PDF at the bottom of the page. 

Funding is for a proposed period of study starting the summer or early fall of the year the funds are awarded. London Health Sciences Foundation will release funds to successful applicants. The applicant should indicate the timelines of the proposed training experience and provide justification if the proposed study period is different from the above time frame. 

An average of $40,000-50,000 is available per year, depending on funds available at that time, and may be used to support one or possibly two successful candidates.

Applicants and successful candidates must satisfy all of the following qualifications:

• Established permanent residency or citizenship in Canada
• Has passed and/or is qualified to write Royal College exams of a medical practitioner
• Demonstrates academic achievement and personal characteristics in keeping with the goals of the award
• Has demonstrated excellence in clinical obstetrics and gynecology, teaching and/or research
• Will not hold other concurrent awards that might conflict with the training experience outlined by the Allen-Carey Award except with the permission of the Allen-Carey Board

Applications should contain the following information:

1. A letter from the applicant outlining the proposed training experience and how this training experience is consistent with the goals of the award (Maximum three pages single spaced size 12 font)

2. Updated Curriculum Vitae

3. Three reference letters. These should be sent directly from the referee and be separate from the application materials. Reference letters should not be disclosed to the applicant. References may be sent by e-mail with original copy to follow by mail. The applicant should provide one reference letter from an appropriate representative of the applicant’s most recent training experience. If the applicant has a sponsor, the sponsor or an appropriate representative of the sponsor should provide a reference letter.

4. Applicants are encouraged to supplement the award with funding through their desired training program and/or a sponsoring institution or organization. The applicant should provide details of such additional funding. 

Successful applicants are expected to provide a short progress report during the course of their chosen training as confirmation that the awarded funds are being used as intended.

Applications should be submitted in electronic format (PDF) by e-mail to Emily Williams, Director of the Women’s Care Program, at the London Health Sciences Centre:

Written correspondence and reference letters should be directed to:  

Emily Williams
Director of Women’s Care
London Health Sciences Centre
800 Commissioners Rd. E.
London, ON N6A 4G5.  

Dr. Vanessa Poliquin’s research focuses on patient and provider characteristics associated with non-receipt of vaccination among pregnant women in Manitoba. As a strong advocate for vaccination during pregnancy, her research goal is to inform health care providers and administrators about the barriers that currently limit widespread uptake of beneficial vaccinations during pregnancy.

Dr. Jennifer Yamamoto studies diabetes in pregnancy, endocrine disorders in pregnancy and reproductive endocrinology. She will be taking on a research fellowship with the “artificial pancreas” research group in the United Kingdom starting in the summer of 2017. 

Dr. Chelsea Elwood (2016)
Dr. Y. Leong (2015)
Dr. A. Cameron (2015)
Dr. Suzanne Demers (2014)
Dr. Cynthia Chan (2013)
Dr. Amanda Morris (2013)
Dr. Jeanelle Sabourin (2013)
Dr. Shannon Arntfield (2011)
Dr. Andrea White (2007)